Summary

You may get the following message when trying to open a work section:

Worksection "[section name]" is currently Checked Out by user "[user name]" on machine "[machine name]".

Screen-shot of the 'Worksection checked out by another user' error message

More information

The worksection is locked by the software as it is either in use or was not closed properly the last time it was in use. This warning and restriction is in place to prevent editing conflicts.

Resolution

Firstly, ensure that no one is currently editing the section in question. Then, to remove section locks:

  1. Click File > Close Specification
  2. Click Tools > Remove Section Locks
  3. Select the document with the checked out section and click OK
  4. Re-open the specification.
This should remove any section locks and allow you to access the worksection again for editing.